The Empowered Trader by Mark Fechner

Learning to Respond to the Market, not just React

Money is not the focus of trading.

with one comment

This interesting article came to my attention from one of my clients .  There must be something in the air because this topic has come up in a couple of different places.  I want to thank Stephen Crane for sharing this article with me.

The topic is the subject of many conversations I have with my clients.  The conversations usually begins something like ‘trading is not about the money, its about the trade.’ That sparks a lot of conversation around the purpose of money and how do we use it in our trading.  Money is a way of measuring our trading results but shouldn’t be a goal of our trading.  If we focus on making better trading decisions, the money will follow. But focus on making money, what ever the motivation, is a recipe for losing money in the market.

My previous posting on money management is a different way of looking at how we should look at managing the money of a trade.  So this article is yet another reason to have a new way of thinking about the money in our trades.

Here is the article, Forget About the Money, Focus on the Price Action.  I hope you enjoy.  I look forward to your thoughts.

Mark
eTradingCoach

Written by etradingcoach

June 7, 2013 at 10:00 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] conversation.  Impressions aside, I’m on record having promoted this thought for a while.  Money is Not The Focus of Trading, and my thoughts on Money Management are just a couple of the posting I’ve had on the […]


Leave a Reply

