The Empowered Trader by Mark Fechner

Learning to Respond to the Market, not just React

Trading in the Moment

with 4 comments

I’m a big believer in being in the moment. As I noted in a previous posting, I became very aware of being in the moment as a musician. One of my first trading ‘aha’ moments was realizing that the very thing I loved about performing served me equally as well as a trader.

Depending on what type of trading you do, these moments are going to come in different ways. As a day trader, it’s very easy to make the analogy to a musician. But I’ve spoken to clients that are painters and sculptures and their work isn’t less in the moment even though the end product may take weeks to accomplish. The bottom line is that we all could take some time to understand what is happening in the here and now, and not think about what has occurred of what might yet be.

So I was delighted to find this article by Melanie Greenberg, PhD, on the Nine Essential Qualities of Mindfulness. Her first two qualities are focus on the present moment and being fully present.

As a trader, the more I’m aware of what is going on with me right now, the better I’ll trade. By focusing on the moment and being present we stand to have a better and more fulfilling trading experience.

Mark
eTradingCoach

Written by etradingcoach

March 4, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Posted in Decisions

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] is the reason why I dedicate a number of postings to mindfulness, being in the moment, and the art of the trade. Our mental state of mind has more to do with our success in the market […]

  2. […] written about being in the moment in previous postings and it’s not always easy.  But the ability to be in the moment, to […]

  3. […] know me and my coaching know that I’m a big believer in intuition.  I’ve written about being in the moment as an important aspect of trading.  Some of the best traders rely on that unexplained something […]

  4. […] you know that I made my living as a musician before getting involved with trading and coaching.  I’ve written about my experience as a musician and the skills I learned that were incorporated into my trading.  What I really like […]


Leave a Reply

