The Empowered Trader by Mark Fechner

Learning to Respond to the Market, not just React

What Role Does Creativity Play in Trading?

leave a comment »

In a previous posting, I talked about trading as an art form. I based that statement from my experience as a musician for many years. Trading has more in common with the arts then it has with math and probabilities. The less judgment I can place on myself in my music, the better I’m going to express myself. As a trader, the less judgment I place on the results of my trading, the more likely I am going to be able to trade successfully.

In my travels, I found this article from Dennis Palumbo on Commitment to the Creative Life. In it he talks about the struggle people have in keeping commitments in their working and social life. Now Mr. Palumbo is a licensed psychotherapist and many of his clients are in the creative world of writers, actors and directors but the bullet points he specifically cites are Constancy, Resilience, Fluidity, Openness to Surprise, and Patience. Do these sound familiar? These are the exact same things that I strive for as a trader on a daily basis.

He also mentions that Love is the foundation of commitment and without it the struggle is eventually meaningless. I think this is an interesting thought that warrants future exploration.

I encourage you to read the article. Here’s a quote from it.

“A commitment to the creative life, in the end, means that you accept, with as much grace as you can muster on any given day, its myriad demands and delights, failures and triumphs. Of course, like in any committed relationship, sometimes it seems like you’re doing all the giving.” Dennis Palumbo.

Mark
eTradingCoach

Written by etradingcoach

February 22, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Posted in Decisions, Markets

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

